creamy milk chocolate

Is Lindt chocolate gluten free?

While some chocolate brands are a bit vague about their bars' gluten-free status and others flaunt it right there on the front of the packet, Lindt is fairly middle-of-the-road. They do not declare any of their chocolates to be gluten free, though many chocolates in their range do not contain any gluten or gluten derivatives at all.

Those products that do contain gluten are clearly labelled with the most common gluten-containing ingredient being barley malt extract, which we know to be a derivative of barley (a gluten-containing ingredient). Herein lies the issue; there is no segregation in their manufacturing facilities between products that do contain gluten or barley malt extract and those that do not. Therefore it is not simply a matter of checking the ingredients list to confirm a products gluten-free status since cross-contamination is a high risk with all Lindt chocolates.

General recommendations from celiac organisations is to never risk consuming gluten or potentially cross-contaminated products at all. So unfortunately, this omits Lindt chocolate from the ‘safe’ list for celiacs and anyone with a gluten sensitivity or intolerance.

The good news is, there are lots of dedicated gluten free chocolate brands available with some producing delectable chocolates that rival some of the best Lindt creations.