Like most things in the gluten-free world, whether or not popcorn is truly gluten free is not a black and white answer.
Popcorn is made from corn and corn is naturally gluten free but not all popcorn is a trustworthy gluten free snack. Two common reasons for this is the facility in which the popcorn is processed and the added ingredients.
Depending on the manufacturer, popcorn could be at risk of cross contamination if the manufacturer’s facilities also process gluten-containing products. One way to avoid contaminated popcorn is to look for labelled or certified gluten free products.
Flavourings and other additives can also be a source of gluten in popcorn; the most common ones to look out for include soy sauce, brewers yeast and malt. An easy way around this is to look at the ingredients list and to choose natural popcorn that’s made with as few ingredients as possible.
A more complex reason some people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity may react to popcorn comes down to certain proteins found in corn, namely zeins. While different to gluten, these proteins can cause similar symptoms in people who are sensitive to gluten.
Serious Popcorn’s Peanut Butter & Almond is seriously good. Made from organic corn popped to crunchy perfection, doused in ground peanuts and almonds then sprinkled with unrefined sugar and salt, each bite is like a trip to nut butter haven, only better. They’re free from gluten and artificial nasties, plus they’re vegan friendly.View Latest Price
The perfect balance of sweet and savoury, this is the popcorn that started it all for cult popcorn makers Cobs. Just four ingredients goes into each batch, with a satisfying crunch and an inimitable flavour, they’ll soon be your favourite gluten-free snack.View Latest Price
Like the brand’s implied namesake, Pop Fiction popcorn is a cult classic and their Cheddar Cheese creation is arguably the best of the bunch. These crunchy morsels of popcorn perfection are made from Australian corn, air popped with brag worthy precision. Not only are they gluten free, they’re free from artificial colours, flavours, preservatives and other nasties too. The perfect wholegrain snack.View Latest Price