oat milk

Is oat milk gluten free?

Oats are naturally free from gluten, so it’s fair to think oat milk is gluten free and thus suitable for individuals with celiac disease or a sensitivity to gluten. Sadly, it’s not that simple...

Found in wheat, barley and rye, gluten is a protein that’s not tolerated by everyone. While oats don’t fall under the category of any of these gluten-containing grains, they are often grown within close proximity to wheat and run the risk of being contaminated during processing post-harvest since oats are often handled in the same facilities as wheat. So unless a brand specifically stipulates their oat milk is gluten-free friendly and not manufactured in a facility where gluten traces may be found, oat milk is not considered to be truly gluten free.

But where there’s a will, there’s a way.

Oat milk is easy to make yourself if you have a blender at home and can get your hands on uncontaminated oats. Brands like GK Gluten Free Foods are dedicated to providing quality products to people with specific dietary requirements. They are Australia’s only supplier of fully guaranteed gluten-free oats; their process ensures each bag of oats are tested, certified and guaranteed to be free from gluten.