Is spelt flour gluten free?

Spelt flour is not gluten free, so anyone with a gluten intolerance, allergy, or sensitivity is best to steer clear of this type of flour. Spelt is actually a type of wheat and surprisingly, studies have found its gluten structure rivals that of conventional wheat with researchers finding the gluten protein composition in spelt to be slightly above that of wheat.

Classed as an ancient grain, spelt is a common flour in healthy cooking. While spelt flour is not gluten free there are a number of nutritious flours that are gluten free and deemed suitable substitutes for spelt flour.

Substitutes for Spelt Flour

amaranth flour

Amaranth flour

Amaranth is considered a psuedocereal, meaning it’s not a grain but a seed. Therefore, it’s gluten free and is a popular substitute for spelt flour in gluten-free cooking. It’s deemed to be highly nutritious with a long list of minerals and micronutrients on its official nutrition profile. One cup of cooked amaranth contains slightly more than 100% of the recommended daily intake (RDI) of manganese, nearly half the RDI of magnesium and around 30% the RDI of iron. It’s also a good source of protein and fibre and is high in a number of antioxidants.

View Latest Price
organic buckwheat flour

Buckwheat flour

Buckwheat flour boasts a deliciously early, slightly nutty flavour profile. It’s an excellent gluten free substitute for spelt flour, particularly in savoury cooking. It’s much richer in minerals than wheat flour and isn’t shy on protein or fibre either. Where it truly shines is its antioxidant plant compounds, namely rutin, quercetin and D-chiro-inositol.

View Latest Price